Search:     Go  
The Spanish Lawyer Online
The Spanish Lawyer Online

Thread: Best way to start process; I live in Miami, Florida

RAhar

Default Best way to start process; I live in Miami, Florida

My future wife and I will be moving from Miami, Fl. to Valencia in the summer of 2014. I am an EFL teacher, with MA-TESOL degree, and was wondering if language centers/schools require any sort of visa. I easily qualify for the non-lucrative visa but I want to work. I am aware of the relaxed EFL world and will most likely find related work. Most language centers do not sponsor work permits/contracts needed to acquire the permit due to short hours/day. My first question is if I apply for the N/L visa, become approved, then could I later seek a work permit after finding a contract/sponsor? If an NIE number is acquired at time of N/L visa receipt, then how do I submit a Spanish Bank note stating the necessary 90k balance (Me + Wife) if an NIE number is required to open a bank account?

Should I apply for NIE, open bank account, wire necessary funds, then apply for N/L Visa?

Hello Rahar,

It is certainly true that Language schools are reluctant to assist in the salaried residence permit application for its overseas teachers as the requirements involve long hours contracts that are not in line with their business management system and the chances of success are not very high in initial cases ( the immigration office approves those permits based on certain types of professions that are on demand, otherwise applications are turned down ).