Search:     Go  
The Spanish Lawyer Online
The Spanish Lawyer Online

Thread: permanent residency whilst working overseas

Unregistered

Default permanent residency whilst working overseas

Hello
    I am an offshore engineer, working on projects around the world on a equal time rotation, i am wanting permanent residency in Spain and wanting what do I have to do to gain entry... As I am looking to stay indefinitely...
    Regards,
    Pete

Hi Pete,

Permanent residency can only be applied for once you have been a legal resident in Spain for 5 years.

Please let me know what is your nationality as there are different rules for non EU citizens.

Regards,
    Patricia Martin
    Immigration Consultant at Lawbird | Contact Me
    Check My Profile

Unregistered

Thanks patricia,

Nationality is Australian. So Im guessing that If I am coming and going out of the country, this would effect gaining residency after the 5 years?

Pete

Hello Pete,

My apologies for this late reply.

Yes, it would certainly have an effect if you spent more than 185 days per year out of Spain. The first step is to apply for a residence permit, either salaried ( if you worked for a Spanish company ), self-employed ( registering as a sole trader in Spain having your own business ), or Non Lucrative, that I do not recommend you in case you are a salaried worker out of Spain, as this type of residency is aimed to businessmen/women, wealthy individuals and leisure travelers than can prove solid, regular and high income.

An initial residence permit is granted for one year, that is them renewed for two additional years. As you mention the nature of your job is related to the engineering sector in worldwide projects, the 185 days rule may not apply as you could prove your work demanded long periods abroad.

I suggest you contact me by email so we can study in detail your profile and then decide on the best route to follow in your case.

You can find my email if you click on my profile.

Regards,