PDA

View Full Version : Residence Permit

Unregistered
02-25-2011, 11:42 PM
I hope someone can help me please with my questions.

I am a non-EU citizen married to an EU citizen for almost 5 years now and we are living in Spain. I have a residence card on the basis of this marriage and t is up for renewal. What happens if I won’t be able to renew it on time due to unforeseen circumstances?

Also, I read on the Internet that one of the requirements for renewal is a legalised and authenticated OR apostilled marriage certificate issued no more than three months prior to renewal application. Is this applicable throughout Spain or for specific areas only?

Lastly, is changing the type of my permit from regimen comunitario to regimen general applicable in my case as I have been a resident for almost 5 years now? What are the benefits of regimen general as against regimen comunitario?

Thank you very much in advance.

Unregistered
02-26-2011, 10:50 PM
About the "Tarjeta de residencia permanente de familiar de ciudadano de la Unión" - who gets to have this type of residence card?

Thank you in advance.

Marta
03-02-2011, 05:43 PM
This card gives all those non EU citizens who are family of a EU or EEA resident, the ability to reside in Spain on a permanent basis.
The card is obtained on the fifth year of residence and it and has a validity period of ten years.

Unregistered
03-15-2011, 02:54 PM
Gracias, Marta!

But if you have this card "Tarjeta de residencia permanente de familiar de ciudadano de la Unión", are you considered under regimen comunitario? Will it be better if you are under regimen general?

The way I understand it regimen comunitario means you are in Spain because of your ties with an EU national. And with regimen general, you are a legal resident by virtue of continuous stay in Spain. Is this correct? I hope I am making sense.

Marta
03-16-2011, 06:01 PM
Hello,