Search:     Go  
The Spanish Lawyer Online
The Spanish Lawyer Online

Thread: Pareja de hecho???

hopefulexpat

Default Pareja de hecho???

Hello,

I am an American citizen who recently graduated from university. I have been with my girlfriend (dual American/euro, lives in the Basque country in Spain) for several years now, and I would like to move there with her.

I studied business and am applying to masters in finance programs at IE and ESADE, in hopes of landing a job or internship there afterwards. Now, I know the current employment situation there, and understand the obstacles.

I was wondering how a "pareja de hecho" works - does it grant me the privilege to bypass the need for a work permit? How would I go about initiating the process of obtaining it? What exact privileges does this grant me?

Thanks in advance for all of your help.

Hello hopefulexpat,

In the event you finally decided to move on and settle in Spain with your fianceé, who holds an EU nationality, you would be able to apply for a residence card as a relative to an EU citizen as soon as you had formalized your relationship with her, that is, you had married her or registered as a Common Law couple ( normally processed at the local town hall ). You can find more information about the Tarjeta de Residencia de familiar de ciudadano de la union requirements clicking here.

That type of residence card allows you bypass the need of a work offer, as you can still apply for it as long as you can prove you and your partner have sufficient financial means to support yourself while you look for a job in your professional sector. However, please bear in mind that meeting the financial requirements is essential for you to be able to apply for that residence card; that is, your family relationship in itself does not guarantee the card will be granted.