Search:     Go  
The Spanish Lawyer Online
The Spanish Lawyer Online

Thread: ERASMUS Student

Unregistered

Post ERASMUS Student

Hello ,

i am a university student and have permanent residence permit in Spain (Larga Duracion)
    I have got ERAMUS semester to Germany . My question is that

Do i have to apply for German student visa to go for ERASMUS studies period ( 4.5 months ) to Germany ??
    Do i have some benefits in terms that i hold Tarjeta de residenia de large duracion ?

Hello,

If you hold a Permiso de residencia de Larga Duracion, you can leave Spain for one year and not loose your residency status in Spain. There is no need for you to apply for a visa to enter Germany and spend there the time the Erasmus programme lasts, though the responsible office of the Ministry of Education in Spain will be able to claify that for you.

Best Regards,
    Patricia Martin
    Immigration Consultant at Lawbird | Contact Me
    Check My Profile

Unregistered

Post Studies

Hello

I have some how same situaation but with a little bit twist .

I have permanent residence permit in Spain because of my family ties. Basically my home is in Spain . but i am studying in France (in a French university ) and for that purpose, i ve also got French student visa from the French embassy in Spain .

Now i have got ERASMUS program to Germany , and i am not sure that do i need to apply for German student visa or not because ERASMUS studies are just for 1 semester (around 5 months) .

Another confusion is that my french visa is also about to expire , and if i have to apply for german student visa in France , i need to have a valid french visa . I am confused that
    Do i first have to apply for French visa in Spain and then go to france and apply for german student visa there ?? !! OR
    I can directly apply for German student visa in Spain because of the reason that i am permanent resident overhere ??.